The Sharpie Disappointment…

DSC00847Out of the endless busy hours of the the day, I managed to sneak in some time to draw some quick doodles and make a blog post. Lately I’ve been so caught up with piles and piles of school work, mainly assignments, so today I felt like I needed to take a break!

As I mentioned in one of my previous posts, I loooove Sharpie markers. I adore the way you can use them to draw on anything and turn it into something special. However, today they really disappointed me. I spent this morning trying to draw some nice illustrations on my cardboard paint samples that I got from Bunnings. I had some exciting ideas in my mind of what I wanted to draw and I was so excited to bring them to life! But as soon as that first Sharpie marker touched the surface of the cardboard, I realised it was…(insert dramatic music)…dry.

‘That’s okay’, I thought at the time. I had heaps of Sharpies, still brand new and unused. So I grabbed another one and attempted to go over my original design, and guess what happened next? This one was dry as well! After that, I tried them all – one marker after another, and they all seemed to not work. By then, I was utterly shattered.

Being the stubborn person I am, I refused to give up and eventually decided to turn to my beloved Black Uni-Ball Fine Liner. This result was the complete opposite – the pen smudged everywhere.

So, that is my dramatic story on how I was let down by Sharpies! Today just didn’t seem like a good day to be doodling after all… But in the end, after an hour, I did manage to get something done in my art book. I also bedazzled the pictures up with some dry flowers and washi tape.

DSC00839DSC00843 DSC00844 Here is a close up of my attempted Sharpie art…DSC00849

Anyway, see you in my next post! xx

3 thoughts on “The Sharpie Disappointment…

Leave a Reply

