Using Watercolour! – 6 things I’ve learnt

Hello there!

It’s been a while since I’ve made an Art post and I was feeling a little creative this weekend. Soo, I decided to pick up some brushes and my old watercolour paints and see what could happen from there!

If you’ve seen my previous art posts, you might have noticed I’m a big fan of drawing and doodling. However, when it comes to watercolour, I’m still quite a novice. I’ve only used it a couple of times in my life but I think I’m beginning to get the hang of it. I’ve seen so many beautiful watercolour art all over Pinterest and Instagram, and I they have all inspired me to get practicing.

watercolour painting collage

Anyway, time to get to the point! Today I’m here to tell you a few things I’ve learnt whilst using Watercolour paint. It may look complicated and tricky, but once you start doing it, it’s not so bad!

1. Using the right paper is probably the best way to achieve good results.

Look for ‘watercolour paper’ on your next trip to the shops! Here’s a little pointer though: I find that you don’t need to spend too much money to get quality paper. I got mine from a bargain shop and it works perfectly. In my opinion, any paper over 150GSM will do!

2. You don’t need expensive watercolour paint to make a beautiful artwork

I actually used my very old paints from the $2 shop and I think they worked perfectly fine!

3. Don’t be afraid to use water!

Okay, don’t go overboard with the water, but remember, it is called WATERcolour paint! At first, I was really scared to use lots of water in fear of it going through the page, but if you have good paper, it shouldn’t be a problem. A thick brush with a lot of water is perfect for a pale first-layer. Then, using a thinner brush and less water/more paint will create darker, finer details to add texture.

4. Don’t put too much water in one spot

Using water with the paint is fun, but when you use too much, it can get ugly! I remember one time I used too much water and I accidentally ripped a hole in my artwork. If you want to keep layering a lot of paint, wait until the paper dries a little first.

5. Have fun! – Experiment and improvise

A lot of the time when I draw, a lot of planning and sketching goes into it. But I think watercolour is more freehand. Just let the brush glide freely, mix colours, let the paint drip down the page! When I painted my flower wreath, I only faintly drew the outline of the circle shape then improvised in painting the flowers and leaves. It doesn’t matter if it’s not perfect! I love experimenting with different shapes, colours and patterns…

6. Watercolour patterns looks great as backgrounds for doodles

After painting some cute shapes and patterns on a paper, I let it dry for a bit before I grabbed my art line pen and doodled away. I think the watercolour gives it such a nice effect and makes it less plain.

IMG_9501IMG_9504

IMG_9499

So there are a few things I’ve learnt in my experience with watercolour. I hope I’ve inspired you to start painting! You don’t need to be an amazing artist to start – just have fun with it.

Have a beautiful day everyone xx

sign out masked

10 thoughts on “Using Watercolour! – 6 things I’ve learnt

  1. Pingback: Free Screensaver Wallpapers: Watercolour Flowers! | Miss Caly

  2. Nice,,, great tips,,wish I knew this a long time ago,, I remembered the first time I used water color,, hmmm, that was like 15 years ago,,,,, lol,, I didnt like the outcome at all, but that was because I never had tips and lessons on watercolor techniques,,,so I did my little research and 2 years later I started getting the hang of it, then in 2004 I graduated into using oils… and today,,its a different story of success.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

