DIY Pin Cushion Jar!

diy pin jar h-001

Remember back when I made a post about ‘10 Ways to Use Jars?’ Well I was particularly interested in the DIY Pin Cushion idea and I decided I would try it out myself!

IMG_0183

Today’s DIY is was inspired by The Seasoned Homemaker, who made a similar pin cushion using different materials. I kind-of improvised most of the steps but I’m happy to say that everything turned out nicely.

IMG_0182-001

I made this little pin cushion jar for my mum’s birthday because she loves sewing things and because her old one was..well.. ugly. Since this is both a jar and pin cushion, it’s perfect for storing bits and pieces like fabric chalk, buttons, thread and more! If you’re a sewer or you know someone in need of a pin-cushion, this DIY is dedicated for you. 😀

Now let’s get to how I made it!

IMG_9986

What I used:

– Scissors and pencil

– Cardboard

– Empty jar (I used an old cream jar)

– Needle and thread

– Batting material

– Hot glue gun

– Patterned and plain fabric

– Lace (optional)

– A ‘pins and things’ label and PVA glue (optional)

Steps: (The pictures match the steps below)

diy pin cushion jar

1. Trace the shape of the jar lid onto a piece of cardboard and cut it out.

2. Cut out a circle of patterned fabric, 5cm (2 inches) away from the edges of the jar lid.

3. Place the batting and cardboard on top of the fabric. (This is what will be inside the pin cushion.)

4. Use a needle and thread to make a loose stitching around the inside edge of the fabric then gather the thread by pulling it up.

5. Then, put the batting and cardboard back into the fabric and tighten the thread.

6. Use a hot glue gun to glue the fabric onto the cardboard so that it stays in place.

7. Flip the pin cushion around and use the hot glue gun to stick it onto the lid of the jar.

8. Use a long strip of plain fabric and glue it around the edges of the lid.

9. Stick the ‘pins and things’ label onto the jar using PVA glue.

10. Use the hot glue gun to stick some lace on top of the plain fabric to make it pretty.

Aaaand you’re done! (*crowd applause*)

IMG_0182-001 IMG_0178

Okay, I know this tutorial might sound kind-of complicated because I’m not very good at explaining things… So if you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask me!

I hope you liked this week’s Fri-DIY – I know I sure did 😀

Until next time,

xx, miss caly


Don’t forget to follow me on social media for future updates!

PinterestTwitterInstagram


7 thoughts on “DIY Pin Cushion Jar!

Leave a Reply

