How to: floral doodling!

floral doodline

Doodling is such a fun thing to do. Sometimes when I’m bored or when I’m procrastinating, I’ll just bring out my pen and mindlessly scribble away. For me, doodling is so much more free than regular drawing and I especially love it because it only requires is a pen and paper, nothing else.

Today I’ve decided to give you a little peek on how I doodle and hopefully you can give it a go yourself! I’m pretty confident using a pen straight onto paper, but if you prefer pencil, go for it.

Let’s begin!

(I didn’t initially plan out how the design would turn out, so this doodle was very random and freehand…:D)

  1. First, I started off with a little circle in the middle of the page then added some petals around it to form a flower.
  2. After that, I drew a hexagon around the flower, as well as more hexagons around it in a tessellating pattern.
  3. I then drew in some more flowers and other leaf doodles to fill in my first hexagon.
  4. In the hexagons surrounding my first one, I simply drew similar flower designs which were slightly different to each other. I did this until I filled up most of my hexagons!

how to draw flower doodlesSo that’s pretty much what happens when I decide to doodle something from the back of my mind. I think the real trick is to not think too hard on what is being drawn, but rather, just letting your hand go free. 🙂

Anyway, let me know if you decide to make some doodles and how they turn out!

See you next time,

miss caly


Don’t forget to follow me on social media for future updates!

PinterestTwitterInstagram

One thought on “How to: floral doodling!

  1. Pingback: Yearly Wrap Up: Best of 2015 by Miss Caly | Miss Caly

Leave a Reply

