DIY Halloween Decoration Series: “Tarantula Nest” in a Jar

tarantula nest

It’s time for part 2 of the grand Halloween mini-series!

For today’s DIY we’re going to be making a Tarantula’s Nest in a jar. Yep, with real Tarantulas. (well…let’s pretend they are anyway.) This idea came across my mind when I was sitting on my backyard bench and saw a little spider web in a tangled mess under the corner of my table. I’d thought to myself “ohhh, I wonder what it would look like if I got a handful of webs and stuffed them all into a jar!” Yes, I’m weird, I know. But that’s how this DIY came to life.

IMG_1957

For this project, we’re obviously not going to use real spider webs, but rather, cotton wool, some string and black paper. I also even designed a cool looking “tarantula nest” label for you to use, which you can find down below (you’re welcome :D.)IMG_1963

This took me around 20 minutes to make, including taking photos and all. I bet you can do better!

Now let’s get started.

What you need:

  • A jar
  • A handful of cotton wool
  • Black string
  • Black paper
  • Scissors
  • My printable label
  • Double sided tape or PVA glue

Tarantula Nest Jar DIY

Steps:

  1. First, use scissors to cut out little pieces of string. (Make sure the pieces aren’t too big because they’re supposed to look like insects.)
  2. Next, cut out different shapes and sizes using the black paper. For mine, I cut out a few spider-looking shapes and other random pieces.
  3. Now gather all the little black pieces of string and paper, then sprinkle them over the cotton wool.
  4. Stuff the pile of mess into the jar and close it.
  5. Stick my printable label onto the front of the jar!

If you haven’t already, {download the printable label here}

So how long did that take you? I’m curious to know how your jar turns out. 🙂

Have a beautiful day,

Miss Caly Sign Out


Follow me on social media for future updates! 

PinterestTwitter
Leave a Reply

