DIY Halloween Decoration Series: Preserved Specimen Jar

preserved specimen

I’m so excited to share with you the last DIY of this Halloween mini-series because it’s my favourite of them all. (Yep, I saved the best for last!)

Today’s ‘preserved specimen’ was inspired by some ideas I found on Pinterest but I decided to do my own take on it by using blue tack and coloured water. The project is so, so quick and fun to make, and it’s perfect for impressing guests with your ‘real preserved pixie lung cavity’ or ‘brain tissue!’

Along with this DIY, I designed four gruesome labels for you to stick onto your jar, which you can find down below.

I hope you like this project as much as I did!

Materials needed:

  • A jar
  • A ball of blue-tack
  • Yellow food colouring
  • Water
  • Scissors
  • Printable label

Specimen Jar DIY

Steps:

  1. Using your hands, mould the ball of blue tack in a weird, wacky shape. I simply made a long rope-shape.
  2. Then, put the blue tack into the jar and press it onto the side so that it sticks to the glass.
  3. Fill the jar with water and add one or two drops of yellow food colouring.
  4. Cut out one of my printable labels and stick it onto the front of the jar.

If you haven’t already, {download the printable preserved specimen labels here}

So that’s a wrap on this year’s special Halloween mini-series! I hope you enjoyed these three DIY jar decorations and that I’ve inspired you to make something. Which one was your favourite?

See you next Friday,

Miss Caly Sign Out


Follow me on social media for future updates! 

PinterestTwitter
2 thoughts on “DIY Halloween Decoration Series: Preserved Specimen Jar

Leave a Reply

