My First Prismacolor Drawing! Creativity Takes Practise…

IMG_3847

Something very, very exciting happened last month that I never got to share with you. I was so ecstatic when it happened – it was like Christmas came early… Can you guess?

…..

My Prismacolor pencils arrived in the mail!

IMG_3842

Okay, I know, I know, it’s not all that grand, but I truly was over the moon. In case you don’t know, Prismacolors can be considered as one of those high(er)-end kind of pencils and although they’re quite pricey, they’re said to be one of the best quality you can get. Maybe not the best, but boy are they so satisfying to own. 

IMG_3844

Being the amateur wanna-be artist that I like to think I am, I love to try different mediums and let them take me on all sorts of adventures. I finally had the chance to invest in these beautiful Prismacolors and I must say, I’m feeling very venturesome. If you love to draw like me, whatever level you’re at, I definitely recommend these.

IMG_3845

Yesterday, after a good month of intimidatingly sitting in the corner of my room, untouched, I finally had a go at using my new Prismacolors.

I find their texture is very different to other coloured pencils. They’re very waxy and soft, making them easy to blend and create lots of layers. They were a little unusual to use at first, but I’m getting the hang of it.

IMG_3848

If I’m being honest, I don’t quite see myself as a ‘great’ artist. At least, not yet. I believe with ‘greatness’ comes originality, but with originality comes a little bit of inspiration and practise. It’s all really a matter of passion and determination. Even if you think you’re rubbish at drawing – or anything, in that matter – how could you ever do something without learning from your mistakes? For me, my flaw is that I find it hard to draw without using a reference (for this drawing of Chloe Moretz, I followed a tutorial by the very talented Luisiana Juliete on YouTube). But I know that’s all part of the working progress.

Everyday I’m surrounded my endless sources of inspiration, both in my surroundings and all over the internet. One day, I hope to create amazing artworks without any guidance and be able to spill all the craziness of my mind into a beautiful canvas. One day…

In the mean time, I’ll stick to practising.

IMG_3851

IMG_3852

How about you? Let me know your goals and inspirations, whether it’d be for art or just in general. I’m curious to know.

In the meantime, creativity takes practise.

With love,

Miss Caly Sign Out


Follow me on social media for future updates! 

PinterestTwitter
7 thoughts on “My First Prismacolor Drawing! Creativity Takes Practise…

  1. The fact that you called yourself an “amateur wanna-be artist” with your talent makes me lose all hope for my own artistic aspirations! 😉 But seriously, I totally understand the giddiness of getting fresh new supplies like colored pencils — there’s nothing like it!

    Like

    • Aw, thanks Kelsey! The main point I wanted to make in this post is that you can learn to do so much with a bit of passion and inspiration. I truly believe if you love drawing, it doesn’t matter how ‘good’ you are. Hehe, yes, I always get so excited for new art supplies!

      Like

  2. Aren’t they amazing! I discovered them two years ago and love them! I use them to draw my life. I express how I’m feeling and thinking through drawing. It’s great therapy. Your picture is beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

