DIY Happy Stress Balls! – 15 Minutes-to-Make

It only takes 15 minutes to make these cute stress balls! Ahh, they feel so good!

Hey friends!

I know, I know it’s been a while since I posted a DIY… and while I could sit here for a few minutes and come up with excuses as to why I’ve been so absent, I might as well tell you the truth. I’ve gotten lazy. Creative block, burnout, slump…whatever you call it, that’s what I’ve been going through. But no fear! It’s all good! Things like that will always happen in life – there are times when you’ll just feel uninspired and idea-less, but then you just pick yourself up and DIY yourself out of the problem.

Today, while I do have a DIY to share, first I also want to get a little more personal with you and talk about a very important topic: stress. If there’s one thing I’ve learnt from being a student, it’s that stress is not okay. Reality is that there’s always going to be something to do, whether it’d be homework, revision, studying, practising an instrument, playing sport, preparing for a meeting, finding time to watch your favouite tv show… There’s simply never not going to be anything to do, because if there is, then you wouldn’t have a purpose, am I right? What I’m trying to say is that it’s fine – good, in fact – to have lots of things to do because that’s what gets us going in life. It all just comes down to how well we handle them.

Lately I feel like I’ve got so much to do and I got so overwhelmed the other day that I gave up and didn’t do anything at all. That’s when it hit me. I realised that stress doesn’t actually lie within the to-do list itself, but rather, in the way you approach it. It was such a small epiphany but it has really turned my life around. Now I’m trying to focus on things one at a time and see each task as an individual activity rather than a whole clump of boring priorities. Another thing I realised about stress is that it is fuelled by overworking your mind. So take breaks! Yes there are things that should be done, but in the end, what’s more important, that essay or your personal health and wellbeing? I think that’s something we should all think about before we do anything.

Look after yourself and you’ll feel good no matter what happens.

Alright, so today I made these cute little stress balls for those times when you feel like you need to squish something real hard. I know I just made a whole point about how stress is not okay, but of course it’s okay to feel stressed. We all do. And in those times, this DIY happy ball will be there to help!

IMG_4188

This DIY was so so so fun to make and took around 15 minutes. Not to mention, you can probably find all the materials needed around the house. Now without further ado, lets get started!

Materials: (makes 1 ball)

  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 3 teaspoons of PVA glue
  • Spoon
  • Mixing bowl
  • 2 or more balloons
  • Small plastic water bottle
  • Scissors
  • (Optional) Permanent marker, felt and a hot glue gun to add any decorations to your ball to make it more happy!

(Note: ingredients can vary depending on how thick you’d like the consistency to be. If you like it thicker, add more glue and flour)

IMG_4160

Steps:

  1. Add the flour, water and PVA glue into the mixing bowl and stir until combined.
  2. Pour the mixture into the plastic bottle.
  3. Stretch a balloon over the mouth of the plastic bottle.
  4. Pour the mixture into the balloon by squeezing the bottle.
  5. Pinch the balloon shut with your fingers before removing it from the bottle to ensure that the contents don’t spill everywhere.
  6. Tie a knot.
  7. Cut off the end of another balloon then stretch this over the original one to make it look more like a ‘ball’. You can continue layer more balloons over this if you wish.
  8. Decorate your happy stress ball using permanent marker or bits of felt material and a hot glue gun!.

DIY happy stress ball by Miss Caly - Feels so good!

I hope you enjoyed this DIY!

What gets you stressed?

Miss Caly Sign Out


Follow me on social media for future updates! 

PinterestTwitter
5 thoughts on “DIY Happy Stress Balls! – 15 Minutes-to-Make

Leave a Reply

