My Favourite Art Essentials: Because It’s School Holidays!

My Favourite Art Supplies! - Miss Caly

The school holidays began last week and so comes the time to finally have a nice long break from those hours of sitting behind wooden desks, staring blankly at a white board. Yayyyyyy!….. yay…? Now half the holidays have passed and I’m still sitting behind my wooden desk, not doing anything grand. Seriously, where has the time gone?!

Well, I guess my time has gone into doing several things. First of all, I’ve been watching Masterchef and binge watching Game of Thrones (in which my only regret is not watching it sooner). Apart from that, I’ve also been making DIY phone cases (see these on my Instagram!), eating lots, doodling like crazy and occasionally stepping foot out into the vast terrains of my backyard to experience some vitamin D. 

IMG_4836

It’s been a while since I’ve had the time to get super creative, so I thought I’d make a post to share with you some of the things I’ve been loving when it comes to making art. So I guess you could call this is a haul / favourites post if you please. Without further ado, let’s begin.

IMG_4837

Here are some of my favourite art essentials:

#1: Sketchbooks

IMG_4848

I have a lot of art books hanging all around my house but I mainly only use two. I have a pocket sized one for spontaneous sketches and a larger one for experimental/random patterns at home. I actually only just received my pocket sketchbook in the mail so I haven’t done too much in it. It’s a red Moleskine, in case you’re wondering, and I got it from The Book Depository. I’m planning to bring this wherever I go so I can sketch in different places. My larger sketchbook is actually one of my most successful purchases from the dollar shop because it was only $2.50 and is pretty amazing for it’s price.

#2 Inky Pen

IMG_4849

I love, love, love doodling in pen. It’s so defined and ahhh I just love it. I’m currently using a Uniball Eye pen. I found it in a pack of 24 at Costco one day and decided to purchase it. I’m not sure if it’s actually meant for drawing or whether it’s for teachers who like fancy pens… but oh well. I like it.

#3 Alcohol Based Markers

IMG_4839

Alcohol Based Markers are perfect for adding that splash of colour to plain sketches. They’re different from usual markers because they blend a lot more easily and kind of look like watercolour paint. I’ve heard plenty of good reviews about Copic Markers, and while I’d love to own some, it’s a little too expensive for me, especially because I’m not very experienced in using them. To get the hang of using alcohol based markers I purchased a few cheap ones from Aliexpress. They’ve been working really well for me so far and I’d recommend buying some if you’re a beginner and don’t want to spend too much.

#4 Small Piece of Cardboard

IMG_4847

Yes, I had to mention this in my essentials! Using Alcohol Based Markers has a downside, and that is that they bleed. A lot. Especially if the paper you’re using is thin. That’s why I cut out a little sheet of cardboard the size of my sketchbook to put behind the page I’m drawing on, just so that the page behind it doesn’t get ruined.

#5 Coloured Pencil for Sketching

IMG_4854

Maybe it’s just me, but I just don’t like using lead pencils. To me they’re just so…plain. Often whenever I need to draw a rough plan or sketch of something, I’ll do it in purple pencil before I go over it in detail with my pen. I think it adds a cool dimension to the finished sketch and shows the rough process of the design in an interesting way.

Here are a few sketches I’ve been up to these holidays…

sketches and doodles by Miss Caly

What are your favourite art essentials?

P.s. Have you seen my other drawings? Take a look at my Art Gallery for more…

Miss Caly Sign Out


Follow me on social media for future updates! 

PinterestTwitter
Leave a Reply

