DIY Personalised Fabric Notebook Cover: With Pictures

Easy tutorial on how to make a DIY fabric notebook cover! - By Miss Caly

Ah, the sun’s out, music’s on, and there’s nothing that needs to be done…I simply love the holiday season. These past few weeks I’ve been spending my spare time making little crafts, drawing and other mindless projects requiring not much thinking whatsoever. It’s been like paradise, and I’m seriously dreading going back to school! But what has to be done, will be done, I guess. And the least I can do is prepare myself for those busy days ahead!

IMG_3096

This week I took some time to personalise my 2016 diary so that it’ll be pretty and perfect for writing down all those important dates, exams and to-do’s. I’m so in love with how it turned out, especially because it was completely unique and my own design. So far, I’ve made a little pocket to hold my notes and stickers, and also covered it with my favourite fabric.

IMG_3094

Today I thought I’d make a tutorial on how I covered my diary, so you can try it out for yourself. It was so simple to make and is the perfect way to personalise plain notebooks. I even added a little elastic with a charm over the diary to secure it closed. I’ll definitely be doing more of this with my other books!

Step by step tutorial on how to make a DIY fabric notebook cover! - By Miss Caly

Materials needed: 

  • Plain notebook
  • Nice fabric
  • Large paint brush
  • Scissors
  • Craft glue
  • (Optional) hair elastic and a charm

Steps:

1. Use scissors to cut a rectangle of fabric, around 3cm larger than the actual size of the notebook.

DIY fabric notebook cover - Step 1

2. Use the paint brush to spread glue all over the front cover of the notebook. Then, press the fabric onto the front cover, remembering to leave the 3cm border around the edges. Also, make sure there are no air bubbles.

DIY fabric notebook cover - Step 2

3. Now that the front cover is glued on, paint some more glue onto the spine of the book then press the fabric on.

DIY fabric notebook cover - Step 3

4. Now that the fabric has been glued to the front and spine of the book, spread glue all over the back cover and press the fabric on.

DIY fabric notebook cover - Step 4

5. Now, open the notebook to the first page. Use scissors to cut two slits at the top and bottom of the fabric, right where the spine is (see photo for reference). Then, glue down the edges of the fabric to the back of the front cover.

DIY fabric notebook cover - Step 5

6. Then, smear glue all over the back of the front cover and stick the adjacent page over it. (This is to hide the ugly fabric at the back of the front cover).DIY fabric notebook cover - Step 6

7. Turn over to the back of the notebook and repeat steps 5 and 6: glue down the edges then glue the adjacent page over it. DIY fabric notebook cover - Step 7

8. Snip off the excess fabric that’s left sticking out at the top and bottom of the spine. Now if you close the notebook, you should have a beautiful new cover!

9. (Optional) Grab a spare hair elastic and wrap it around the notebook to keep it secured closed. Add a charm to it for an elegant touch!

DIY fabric notebook cover - Step 8

I’m so happy with how my diary cover looks now, especially with the elastic and charm (they add the perfect embellishment!)

Happy DIY-ing!

With love,

Miss Caly Sign Out


Follow me on social media for future updates! 

PinterestTwitter

9 thoughts on “DIY Personalised Fabric Notebook Cover: With Pictures

    1. I find that covering books is a lot more sturdier, not to mention prettier, than using regular contact paper. I love DIYs too *high five!*, I’ll have a little look at your blog now. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Did this a while back to a few of my language notebooks. It’s a great way of personalising things!
    My tip – use double sided tape instead of glue if the glue is too messy, means there’s no worry about waiting for things to dry fully. 🙂

    Like

    1. I see… I’m thinking of covering my school books with fabric too. Great tip! I found that the glue sometimes soaked through the fabric, making it a bit messy. I’ll definitely keep tape in mind for next time, thanks! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve fond myself in so many situations where double sided tape has saved my sanity. It’s definitely worth stocking up on plenty of it for crafts 🙂

        Like

Leave a comment